top of page


Casey Johnson fought through a rain delay, power outage, and lapped traffic to emerge victorious in the Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet feature event Memorial Day Monday at Columbus 151 Speedway.

After three aborted starts to the event and with more threatening weather on the way, the race got underway with an announced distance of thirty-nine laps instead of the scheduled seventy-eight laps, with another rain storm fast approaching. Pole sitter and Columbus regular Brady Liddle showed the way early in the event over teenager Brent Edmunds, making his third Big 8 Series start. As the race settled in, Liddle continued to lead Edmunds, with Johnson quickly making his way to the front.

With the advancing storms apparent, a sense of urgency was felt by all competitors. Johnson especially felt this urgency, working inside of Edmunds for the second spot. As Johnson advanced through the field, Austin Nason followed the defending Big 8 Series champion through traffic. As Johnson advanced to second, Nason grabbed third. Only a few laps later, Johnson used the traffic to grab the lead from Liddle. As Johnson moved to the lead, Nason followed Johnson and assumed second place, dropping Liddle to third. Nason worked hard to find a way around Johnson, but lapped traffic worked in Johnson’s favor, as he was able to keep Nason at bay.

One final caution flew with four laps remaining, setting up a sprint to the finish. Johnson pulled away from the pack at the drop of the green, cruising to the victory. Nason matched his best ever Big 8 finish with a second place effort. Edmunds claimed third, his first podium finish in the Big 8 Series. Defending Dells Raceway Park champion Nick Nolden came home in fourth, with defending Jefferson Speedway Champion Dale Nottestad rounding out the top five.

A-Main 01 — 1. Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis; 2. Austin Nason, Roscoe; 3. Brent Edmunds, Monticello, Wis; 4. Nick Nolden, Sun Prairie, Wis; 5. Dale Nottestad, Cambridge, Wis; 6. Brady Liddle, Oregon, Wis; 7. Steve Dobbratz, Rio, Wis; 8. John DeAngelis, Jr, Hubertus, Wis; 9. Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan, Wis; 10. Wayne Freimund, Elkhorn, Wis; 11. Mike Meyerhofer, Burlington, Wis; 12. Dan Lensing, Roscoe; 13. Christopher Marek, Lakeville, Minn.; 14. Tim Sargent, South Beloit; 15. Gregg Pawelski, Muskego, Wis; 16. Jon Reynolds, Jr., Rockford; 17. J. Herbst, LaCrosse, Wis; 18. Mark Miller, Columbus, Wis; 19. Jacob Gille, Machesney Park; 20. Dave Edwards, Salem, Wis; 21. Jacob Vanoskey, Hartford, Wis; 22. Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien, Wis; 23. John Beale, Verona, Wis; 24. Michael Clapper, Dane, Wis.

Last Chance “A” 01 — 1. J. Herbst, LaCrosse, Wis; 2. Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien, Wis; 3. Jacob Gille, Machesney Park; 4. John Beale, Verona, Wis; 5. Dave Edwards, Salem, Wis; 6. Craig Phillips, Edgerton, Wis; 7. Ryan Kamish, Farmington, Minn.; 8. Jeff Nowak, Weston, Wis; 9. Mark English, Edgerton, Wis; 10. Eric Connell, Fort Atkinson, Wis; 11. Jacob Vanoskey, Hartford, Wis; 12. Casey Strese, Johnson Creek, Wis; 13. Collin Olson, Hugo, Minn.; 14. Tom Jasinski, Pewaukee, Wis; 15. Cody Kippenhan, Menasha, Wis; 16. Kyle Kirberger, Ramsey, Minn.; 17. Jeff Holtz, Franksville, Wis.

Heat 01 — 1. Mark Miller, Columbus, Wis; 2. Jon Reynolds, Jr., Rockford; 3. J. Herbst, LaCrosse, Wis; 4. Ryan Kamish, Farmington, Minn.; 5. Jeff Nowak, Weston, Wis; 6. Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien, Wis; 7. Craig Phillips, Edgerton, Wis; 8. Cody Kippenhan, Menasha, Wis; 9. Kyle Kirberger, Ramsey, Minn.; 10. Mike Taylor, Stoughton, Wis; 11. Collin Olson, Hugo, Minn..

Heat 02 — 1. Tim Sargent, South Beloit; 2. Michael Clapper, Dane, Wis; 3. Jacob Gille, Machesney Park; 4. John Beale, Verona, Wis; 5. Dave Edwards, Salem, Wis; 6. Jeff Holtz, Franksville, Wis; 7. Casey Strese, Johnson Creek, Wis; 8. Mark English, Edgerton, Wis; 9. Jacob Vanoskey, Hartford, Wis; 10. Eric Connell, Fort Atkinson, Wis; 11. Tom Jasinski, Pewaukee, Wis.

Qualifying Dash 01 — 1. Brady Liddle, Oregon, Wis; 2. Brent Edmunds, Monticello, Wis; 3. Mike Meyerhofer, Burlington, Wis; 4. Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis; 5. Gregg Pawelski, Muskego, Wis; 6. Wayne Freimund, Elkhorn, Wis; 7. Steve Dobbratz, Rio, Wis.

Qualifying Dash 02 — 1. Austin Nason, Roscoe; 2. Dale Nottestad, Cambridge, Wis; 3. Christopher Marek, Lakeville, Minn.; 4. Dan Lensing, Roscoe; 5. Nick Nolden, Sun Prairie, Wis; 6. Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan, Wis; 7. John DeAngelis, Jr, Hubertus, Wis.

Time Trial — 1. Steve Dobbratz, Rio, Wis; 2. Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan, Wis; 3. Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis; 4. John DeAngelis, Jr, Hubertus, Wis; 5. Mike Meyerhofer, Burlington, Wis; 6. Christopher Marek, Lakeville, Minn.; 7. Gregg Pawelski, Muskego, Wis; 8. Nick Nolden, Sun Prairie, Wis; 9. Brent Edmunds, Monticello, Wis; 10. Dale Nottestad, Cambridge, Wis; 11. Wayne Freimund, Elkhorn, Wis; 12. Dan Lensing, Roscoe; 13. Brady Liddle, Oregon, Wis; 14. Austin Nason, Roscoe; 15. Kyle Kirberger, Ramsey, Minn.; 16. Jeff Holtz, Franksville, Wis; 17. Ryan Kamish, Farmington, Minn.; 18. Michael Clapper, Dane, Wis; 19. Jon Reynolds, Jr., Rockford; 20. Casey Strese, Johnson Creek, Wis; 21. Mark Miller, Columbus, Wis; 22. Tim Sargent, South Beloit; 23. Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien, Wis; 24. Jacob Gille, Machesney Park; 25. J. Herbst, LaCrosse, Wis; 26. Dave Edwards, Salem, Wis; 27. Jeff Nowak, Weston, Wis; 28. John Beale, Verona, Wis; 29. Craig Phillips, Edgerton, Wis; 30. Eric Connell, Fort Atkinson, Wis; 31. Mike Taylor, Stoughton, Wis; 32. Tom Jasinski, Pewaukee, Wis; 33. Collin Olson, Hugo, Minn.; 34. Jacob Vanoskey, Hartford, Wis; 35. Cody Kippenhan, Menasha, Wis; 36. Mark English, Edgerton, Wis; 37. Mark Hartline, Gilberts.

- See more at:

bottom of page