top of page

MIS Banquet Honors Accomplishments of the 2014 Season

A great crowd was on hand for the 2014 MIS Awards Banquet on Saturday night at The Heights in Verona, Wisconsin, as track champions were crowned in six divisions plus the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge. The Midwest Truck Series also recognized their top drivers as part of this event.

Track champions for 2014 included Dave Feiler (Super Late Models), Blake Brown (American Ethanol Super Trucks), Dale Nottestad (Club La Mark Late Models), Kody Hubred (Dave’s White Rock Sportsman), Cory Talaska (Roto Rooter Legends), and Dan Snyder (Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits). Additionally, Chris Wimmer was honored as the 2014 Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge champion.

Dave Feiler of Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, took home his fourth Super Late Model track championship at Madison which tied him with the late Joe Shear for the most championships in the division. Feiler’s other titles came in 1998, 2002, and 2003. This season he picked up two feature wins, two heat wins, and two fast times along with six top five finishes and a total of 881 points. His two feature wins give him a total of twenty-one wins at Madison which puts him in sixth place on the all-time list. Runner-up Jeremy Miller of Rockton, Illinois, finished the season with 798 points powered by two feature wins and set fast time on two nights. Bobby Wilberg of Beloit, Wisconsin, finished the season in third place with 766 points highlighted by one feature win. Other drivers recognized were Bobby Kendall of Montello, Wisconsin (4th Place), Russ Blakely of Delavan, Wisconsin (5th Place), Casey Johnson of Edgerton, Wisconsin (6th Place), Colin Reffner of Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin (7th Place), and Gary Lamonte of West Allis, Wisconsin (8th Place).

Feiler also won the B and B Lawn Care Dash Series while Kendall won the Fast Qualifier Award both receiving trophies. Six drivers picked up cash awards The speedway would like to thank Fred Boal of B and B for sponsoring the Dash Series.

Chris Wimmer of Wausau, Wisconsin, won the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge Series for 2014 finishing ahead of Feiler and Johnson. Wimmer picked up a feature win on his way to the title and now joins Nathan Haseleu and Johnson as Triple Crown winners. The title was Wimmer's first at Madison. He is also the current track record holder in the division.

Blake Brown of Franksville, Wisconsin, won the championship for the American Ethanol Super Trucks. Thanks to a division high total of five feature wins, Brown accumulated 971 points for the season. The 2013 champion, Jerry Wood of Madison, Wisconsin, finished runner up this year with 808 points while Camden Murphy of Itasca, Illinois, was in third place with 767 points.

Brown also was crowned the 2014 champion in the Midwest Truck Series followed by Jerry Wood and Camden Murphy. John Beale was honored as Rookie of the Year while Joshua James won the Most Improved Award. Some great contingency awards were presented by Series Director John H. Wood including a Five Star Certificate for a truck body won by Chester Ace.

Dale Nottestad of Cambridge, Wisconsin, won the title for the Club La Mark Late Models. He finished the season with 314 points and one feature win in the three race series. The title was his third at Madison after winning the Super Late Models in 2004 and Late Models in 2012. Casey Johnson of Edgerton, Wisconsin, finished in second place with 310 points and a feature win while Rockford, Illinois, driver Jon Reynolds Jr. took home third place honors with 288 points.

The hotly contested Dave’s White Rock Sportsman came down to the final night with Ryan Goldade of Edgerton, Wisconsin, taking home the championship with 1242 points. Enroute to his title he won two feature races and set fast time on eight occasions plus set a new track record for his division. Kody Hubred of Utica, Wisconsin, finished in the runner-up position with 1203 points including a division high six feature wins. Third place honors went to Will Rece of Stoughton, Wisconsin, who had 1189 points and four feature checkered flags.

Cory Talaska of Campbellsport, Wisconsin, made it two in a row in the Roto Rooter Legends division by successfully defending his championship. He completed the season with 892 points including four feature and two heat wins and three fast times. Talaska now has a total of 9 career wins at MIS. Aaron Moyer of Malone, Wisconsin, took home second place with 836 points despite missing one night of racing. Moyer led the division with five features wins giving him a total of sixteen in his Madison career which is good for second place overall. Finishing in third place was Chris Lishamer of Elgin, Illinois, who had 766 points.

Dan Snyder of Stoughton, Wisconsin, won the track championship for the Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits. The title was Snyder’s first-ever track championship. His season totals included 1120 points fueled by a division high six feature wins. Jason Coker of Madison, Wisconsin, finished in second place with 892 points while Stoughton, Wisconsin, driver Brandon DeLacy finished in third with 764 points.

Special awards were presented to Mike Carmichael (Truck Owner of the Year) and Tony Moyer (Legends Car Owner of the Year). Dale Nottestad won the Five Star certificate with many other drivers and fans taking home door prizes.

All track champions also received a large framed picture from TJ Harron of TJ Harron Photography. The top three drivers in each division also received trophies.

Track owner Terry Kunes and General Manager Dave Grueneberg would like to thank all of the teams, crews, sponsors, track employees and fans for their support over the past twelve seasons.


bottom of page