top of page


The TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes put the final touches on the 2017 season with the annual awards banquet at Chula Vista Resort this past Saturday. The series honored now three-time Champion Dalton Zehr and a record-breaking season overall.

Due to generous partnerships with the Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association and Hoosier Racing Tire, each TUNDRA member team (16 in total) received a point fund check of $700 – marking another year of growth for the year end awards.

One of the night’s major announcements was that there will be an engine up for grabs during the 2018 season. All drivers who compete in all six races this season will be eligible for a free year lease on a Wegner Motorsports 5.3 LS engine for the 2019 season. The winner will be drawn at next year’s banquet.

As for broken records, both Cole Anderson and Colin Slife were honored for their entrance into the TUNDRA history books. The first ever Young Guns awards were given to Anderson for becoming the youngest ever TUNDRA feature winner (LaCrosse) and Slife for becoming the youngest fast qualifier (Golden Sands).

Darek Gress was named the most improved driver of the 2017 season by virtue of his best TUNDRA finishes (Sixth Place at both Jefferson and State Park). Jordan Thiel was named as the Sportsmanship Award winner, and Championship car owner Wayne Brevik was named TUNDRA Person of the Year.

Brent Strelka scored some awards of his own, being given the Hard Luck Award for the season and by winning the fan vote for the Best Appearing Car with over 2,200 votes.

During the speeches most competitors said they plan to return to the series next season, including Dean’s Satellite and Security Rookie of the Year John Beale, who will field a two-car team with former TUNDRA Champion Casey Johnson. Cole Anderson also stated that he will return to eye the TUNDRA title.

After thanking a long list of his sponsors and supporters, Zehr reflected on a competitive 2017 season with the 7-11 team. Zehr will be seeking his fourth TUNDRA Championship in 2018.

Prior to the Super Late Model Awards, Dave Trute was honored for winning his second TUNDRA Sportsman Championship. He said he hopes to see the class continue to grow and will return, as well.

The TUNDRA Super Late Model Series would like to thank its generous partners from the 2017 season and donors to the banquet: 920 Wraps and Shirts, Al Kul Radiators, B&B Racing Engines, Back 40 Wraps, Brakeometer, Central Door Solutions, Coleman Racing Products, Country Plumber, Dean’s Satellite and Security, E3 Spark Plugs, Epyk Media, Five Star Race Car Bodies, Hoosier Racing Tire, J&S Design, Lefthander Chassis, Mama Lichtfeld, Pathfinder Chassis, RacePal, TD Graphics, Wegner Motorsports, Wehrs Machine, and Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association.

TUNDRA would also like to thank the staff and management of our 2017 partner tracks: Wisconsin International Raceway, LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway, Jefferson Speedway, State Park Speedway, Golden Sands Speedway, and Dells Raceway Park.

The 2018 TUNDRA Super Late Model Series season begins on Saturday, May 12 at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna, Wis. Support divisions will include the Sportsman and another to be named soon. For more information visit

bottom of page