top of page


Setting odds on potential winners for Saturday’s Bev Aschenbrenner Memorial Presented by River View Construction and A&A Lock Service could be a daunting task. The field of TUNDRA Super Late Models Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes features plenty of drivers who could be poised to visit Victory Lane.

Of the drivers entered, not one has secured a podium finish in the previous two TUNDRA races – albeit those took place over three seasons ago. Only one driver in the field has secured a Top Five, that being Corey Jankowski who tags in for Round One runner-up Steve Apel.

Although TUNDRA-event success has not been on the side of drivers in the field, there has been plenty of success at Marshfield for many remaining. Michael Sauter, Jim Sauter Jr., and Casey Johnson have all scored Marshfield wins in the past calendar year. Brent Strelka is the winningest Late Model driver in Marshfield history. Jordan Thiel secured a Top Three in Yellow River Racing Series points last season. Chad Butz set fast time in this year’s Yellow River opener.

Marshfield Speedway success also came in droves for Colin Reffner early in his racing career. Reffner made his TUNDRA debut at the 2013 event, shortly after being a dominant force in the track’s Super Stock division. He leads a host of second-year TUNDRA competitors including Justin Mondeik, 2017 Rookie of the Year John Beale, and Jordan DeVoy who have limited or no experience at the facility but have proven to adapt quickly to new tracks.

Rookies may also play a factor in Saturday’s event. While Butz has the fast time to boot, drivers such as Gabe Sommers and Collin Slife have continued to show strength early this season in events outside of TUNDRA. Jake Zellmer and Sydney Wonderling – both making their first starts at Marshfield – will be hoping to push forward in the rookie battle, as well.

As for success away from TUNDRA events, Mike Lichtfeld had a banner day with a fast time, heat race and feature win in the Golden Sands Speedway Trickle 99. A couple of cautions helped immensely as it appeared Darek Gress was on his way to a win. Equally impressive to the runs of Lichtfeld and Gress was that of Wyatt Brooks who started last in the field and worked his way to Fifth. All three of those drivers will be hoping to continue the success of two Mondays ago.

Saturday’s race could have a large effect on the point battle, as well. Neil Knoblock – driving the 711 – will sub in for Kroll’s West Round One winner Dennis Prunty. Knoblock has had success in teaming with Wayne Brevik in the 711 previously. However, Mike Lichtfeld, Jankowski, Johnson, and Reffner will be close in pursuit as they hope to build on strong point days from Round One.

The field could feature a spoiler or two. Steve Lichtfeld makes his return to the series. Tommy Pecaro has Marshfield experience from his Midwest Truck Series days. Nick Barstad will tow from Minnesota, having picked up a Seventh Place finish in his TUNDRA start at Wausau last season. Frank Nitzke has already turned laps at Marshfield with the CWRA. Jesse Oudenhoven has been gaining experience and speed at Marshfield, as well.

The Bev Aschenbrenner Memorial Presented by River View Construction and A&A Lock Service will also feature the TUNDRA Sportsman Tour, Midwest Truck Series and Upper Midwest Vintage Series. Fan gates open at 1 p.m., Qualifying is at 2:30 p.m. and Racing begins at 4 p.m. Adult admission (ages 15+) is $15, Students 9-14 are $10, and Kids 8 and under receive free admission.

Marshfield Motor Speedway is located at 10853 County Rd HH in Marshfield. For more information visit

Expected Entries for Bev Aschenbrenner Memorial Round Two (24) Marshfield Motor Speedway – Saturday, June 9 [TT] – Indicates 2018 TUNDRA Traveler [R] – Indicates 2018 Back 40 Wraps Rookie of the Year Candidate

00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT] 1 – Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna, Wis. 1 – Michael Sauter, West Salem, Wis. 2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT] 5 – John Beale, Verona, Wis. [TT] 5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT] 8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis. [TT][R] 9 – Tommy Pecaro, Markesan, Wis. [TT] 15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT][R] 18 – Frank Nitzke, Berlin, Wis. [TT] 25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT] 30 – Jim Sauter Jr., Necedah, Wis. 31 – Nick Barstad, Prior Lake, Minn. 31 – Corey Jankowski, Tomah, Wis. [TT] 31 – Collin Slife, Richford, Wis. [TT][R] 32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT] 38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT] 44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT] 44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT] 52 – Brent Stelka, Freedom, Wis. [TT] 66 – Sydney Wonderling, Glendale Heights, Ill. [TT][R] 87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT] 99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT][R] 711 – Neil Knoblock, Wausau, Wis. [TT]

bottom of page