top of page


The TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes hits the midway point of the 2019 season this Saturday at Dells Raceway Park. The North American Cup Dedicated to Carl Wegner truly will be up for grabs as TUNDRA returns to its birthplace.

If Dells Raceway Park has proven anything in its storied history with TUNDRA, it’s to expect the unexpected. It’s also a place to welcome first-time TUNDRA winners. Last season Carson Kvapil won his first TUNDRA event in the second of twin 55-lap features. The previous season Jordan Thiel captured his first series win at the third-mile. Ty Majeski also claimed his first ever TUNDRA win at DRP in 2014.

There will be plenty of capable drivers seeking to visit victory lane for the first time. Youngsters Chad Butz and Gabe Sommers have had strong starts to the TUNDRA season and could be leading candidates to score their first victories. Jordan Devoy comes off a strong qualifying and race effort in the Dick Trickle 99 two weeks ago at DRP. Jake Zellmer comes off his best TUNDRA finish (7th) at Marshfield last month. Justin Mondeik enters Saturday with a large amount of momentum after a strong showing at Marshfield. Rookie leader Rich Schumann Jr. is a former Champion at DRP and would be thrilled to score his first win in his freshman season.

Although those drivers may be starving to taste victory for the first time, plenty of the usual suspects will be trying to keep their stomachs rumbling for at least one more race. Past TUNDRA DRP winners include defending Champion and current point leader Casey Johnson, former Champion Dennis Prunty, Mike Lichtfeld, Corey Jankowski, and Thiel.

Drivers seeking their first visit to DRP victory lane include John Beale, Wyatt Brooks, and Colin Reffner.

Other drivers in the field with plenty of experience at DRP could also reign supreme on the day. Darek Gress, Jesse Pokszyk (driving the Marshfield-winning 1W), Bobby Kendall, Steve Lichtfeld, and Joel Theisen may be ones to watch.

TUNDRA will be joined by the Noah’s Ark Waterpark Late Models and the Bandits. Qualifying is at 4:30 pm and racing begins at 6.

Dells Raceway Park is located at N1070 Smith Road just north of downtown Wisconsin Dells. For more information visit

North American Cup Dedicated to Carl Wegner Round Three Dells Raceway Park Saturday, July 6 Expected Entry List (26 as of 7/2/19)

00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT] 1W – Jesse Pokszyk, Friendship, Wis. 2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT] 5 – John Beale, Verona, Wis. [TT] 5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT] 8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis. [TT] 11 – Bobby Kendall, Montello, Wis. 15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT] 18 – Cameron Clifford, Norway, Mich. [TT][R] 20 – Derek Doerr, Watertown, Wis. [TT][R] 25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT] 31 – Corey Jankowski, Tomah, Wis. [TT] 32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT] 32 – Scott Dunning, Lake in the Hills, Ill. [TT][R] 33 – Kevin Knuese, Stoughton, Wis. [TT][R] 38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT] 42 – Dennis Prunty, Knowles, Wis. [TT] 44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT] 44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT] 51 – Dennis Schmidt, Juneau, Wis. [TT] 54 – Rich Schumann, Jr., Portage, Wis, [TT][R] 66 – Sydney Wonderling, Glendale Heights, Ill. [TT] 75 – Joel Thiesen, Maple Grove, Minn. [TT] 83 – Donny Mangun, Chicago, Ill. 87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT] 99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT]

bottom of page