top of page


It isn’t often that Super Late Model racers get to try their hand at Wisconsin’s Action Track. This Saturday a full field of contenders will be gunning to visit Jefferson Speedway’s Victory lane in TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Round Four Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes.

Several glaring favorites pop off the entry list. Defending TUNDRA Champion Casey Johnson is a two-time winner with the series at his home track. He also won the Midwest Tour race there earlier this season. John Beale and Dennis Prunty dueled until the rain drops shortened the event last year, with Beale scoring his first series win on that night. Both will be back, looking to be up front again.

Perhaps they will be slowed by Gabe Sommers, who is on a mid-summer hot streak. Sommers backed up his TUNDRA win at DRP with a win last Friday night at Golden Sands Speedway. He recorded a Top Five in his first appearance at Jefferson last year.

Another past Jefferson winner is Wyatt Brooks. Brooks pulled off his first TUNDRA win at the quarter-mile two seasons ago. He had to battle the likes of his teammate Jordan Thiel, Jordan Devoy, and others to complete the task. Expect those drivers to make some noise come Saturday.

Mike Lichtfeld has scored podium finishes at Jefferson in the past, and his fellow #44 Justin Mondeik set his first TUNDRA fast time at J-track two seasons ago. Other drivers riding some momentum include Jake Zellmer and Dennis Schmidt, who both made the dash at DRP – with Zellmer picking up his first ever Super Late Model fast time.

Among the rookie class, Kevin Knuese and Derek Doerr probably have the most laps around Jefferson. Knuese raced both his Late Model and truck at the track, and Doerr sees Jefferson as a home game. Expect to notice both.

TUNDRA Travelers will also see some outside competition – perhaps most notable being five-time track Champion Dale Nottestad. Slinger Speedway standout Brad Keith could also prove to be a tough customer.

TUNDRA will be joined by the Midwest Truck Series, Lengends, Bandoleros, and Road Warriors. Gates open at 3 pm, qualifying is at 5 pm, racing begins at 7 pm.

Jefferson Speedway is located at W8135 US Hwy 18 between Jefferson and Cambridge, Wis. For more information visit

Round Four Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes Jefferson Speedway July 20, 2019 Expected Entries (29 as of 7/15/19) [TT] TUNDRA Traveler [R] Rookie

00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT] 2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT] 5 – John Beale, Verona, Wis. [TT] 8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis. [TT] 15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT] 18 – Cameron Clifford, Norway, Mich. [TT][R] 20 – Derek Doerr, Watertown, Wis. [TT][R] 20 – Larry Epright, East Troy, Wis. 25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT] 31 – Corey Jankowski, Tomah, Wis. [TT] 32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT] 32 – Scott Dunning, Lake in the Hills, Ill. [TT][R] 33 – Kevin Knuese, Waukesha, Wis. [TT][R] 38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT] 40 – Curt Tillman, Rockford, Ill. 42 – Dennis Prunty, Knowles, Wis. [TT] 44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT] 44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT] 47 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT] 48 – Brad Keith, West Bend, Wis. 51 – Dennis Schmidt, Juneau, Wis. [TT] 51 – Dale Nottestad, Cambridge, Wis. 54 – Rich Schumann, Jr., Portage, Wis, [TT][R] 66 – Sydney Wonderling, Glendale Heights, Ill. [TT] 73 – Joe Vinachi, Morris, Ill. 75 – Joel Theisen, Maple Grove, Minn. [TT] 87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT] 91 – Cole Thomas, Franklin, Wis. 99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT]

bottom of page