top of page


With only two races remaining in the 2019 season for the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes, the Championship battle is about to intensify. The next stop is the tricky quarter-mile at State Park Speedway in Wausau, Wis., this Saturday, August 3.

As has been the case all season long, title contenders will have to emerge from a large field of spectacular Super Late Model racers. With contenders from the traveling contingent of TUNDRA and the Wausau locals, a trip to Victory Lane Saturday will be no easy task.

Much of the attention will be on Gabe Sommers when TUNDRA visits State Park this Saturday. The 16 year old is coming off his first TUNDRA win at Dells Raceway Park on July 6 and a victory in last week’s Larry Detjens Memorial at State Park. Although he didn’t have the run he was hoping for at WIR, Sommers vaulted into the title hunt with his win at DRP and a Second Place finish at Marshfield.

The drivers he’s chasing form a familiar duo at the top of the TUNDRA standings. Casey Johnson is seeking his second straight series title (and third overall). With another podium finish at DRP, he maintains a 35-point lead over John Beale. Both Johnson and Beale have scored big wins at Wausau in the past (although not in TUNDRA action). Johnson took the 2018 Detjens Memorial. Beale won the Wisconsin Challenge Series race earlier this season.

To score victory, drivers may have to dethrone the King of State Park Speedway – Mark Mackesy. Mackesy fended off the traveling TUNDRA racers last season, scoring his second series win at his home track. He won’t be the only defending force TUNDRA racers will have to battle. Last year’s SPS Champion Luke Fenhaus, former Champion Jeremy Lepak, feature winner Travis Volm, and two-time Limited Late Model Champion Brock Heinrich will also join the field.

Wausau has also been kind to several TUNDRA standouts looking to make gains in the point standings. Justin Mondeik nearly grabbed the SPS track title last season. Mike Lichtfeld has been a consistent Top Five finisher in the TUNDRA events at SPS. Colin Reffner set fast time for the event last season. Wyatt Brooks and Jordan Thiel have turned many quick laps around the facility. Neil Knoblock was victorious in the Big 8 Series race last Friday. Any of these drivers (and more) from the group of TUNDRA Travelers could be ones to reckon with this weekend.

TUNDRA will be joined by the Midwest Compact Series, Wisconsin Sport Trucks, and SPS Pure Stocks. SPS Mini-Mods and Mini-Stocks are encouraged to join the Midwest Compact Series but will not race for track points. Pit gates open at 1 pm, fan gates at 3:30, qualifying is at 4:30, and racing begins at 6.

State Park Speedway is located at 5711 N. Mountain Rd in Wausau, Wis. For more information visit

TUNDRA also announced this week that it will not reschedule Round Four at Jefferson. “Bearing in mind the schedules of other series, tracks, and our drivers, we unfortunately could not find a suitable make-up date. We look forward to returning to Wisconsin’s Action Track in 2020,” said series representative Matt Panure.

Round Five Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes State Park Speedway Saturday, August 3 Expected Entry List (30 as of 7/29/19)

00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT] 2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT] 4 – Luke Fenhaus, Wausau, Wis. 5 – John Beale, Verona, Wis. [TT] 5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT] 8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis. [TT] 12 – Mark Mackesy, Wausau, Wis. 15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT] 18 – Cameron Clifford, Norway, Mich. [TT][R] 20 – Derek Doerr, Watertown, Wis. [TT][R] 20 – Larry Epright, East Troy, Wis. 25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT] 31 – Corey Jankowski, Tomah, Wis. [TT] 31 – Jason Wells, Kingsford, Mich. 32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT] 32 – Scott Dunning, Lake in the Hills, Ill. [TT][R] 33 – Kevin Knuese, Waukesha, Wis. [TT][R] 38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT] 40 – Jeremy Lepak, Wausau, Wis. 44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT] 44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT] 51 – Dennis Schmidt, Juneau, Wis. [TT] 52 – Brock Heinrich, Wausau, Wis. 54 – Rich Schumann, Jr., Portage, Wis, [TT][R] 66 – Sydney Wonderling, Glendale Heights, Ill. [TT] 75 – Joel Theisen, Maple Grove, Minn. [TT] 76 – Travis Volm, Mosinee, Wis. 87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT] 99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT] 711 – Neil Knoblock, Wausau, Wis. [TT]

bottom of page