top of page


Although a bit later than anticipated, the Central Wisconsin Racing Association, Cedar Creek Rustic Village, as presented by Bentley Trucking Stars to Legends Tour season opened here Saturday night at Dells Raceway Park, Wis. Dells, WI., with two drivers familiar with victory lane taking the two Lyle Nabbefeldt Memorial race Feature event wins. Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan, WI., and Harley Jankowski, Sparta, WI., each found themselves in victory lane after 35 laps of main event competition, kicking off the 2020 season for both CWRA and the Dells track. The first 35 lap affair found defending CWRA Champion, Jeff Weinfurter, Wis. Rapids, WI., starting from the pole position, where he immediately assumed the early lead. Up and coming racer, Hunter Stenson, Wis. Dells, WI., moved into second spot and began putting the pressure on veteran Weinfurter. Before things could get settled in, a spin by another new to CWRA racer, Allen Borntreger, Hillsboro, WI., brought a halt to action with the caution flag waving on lap 3. With the ensuing double file restart, Weinfurter again paced the field, but Stenson was determined and took the first position on lap 8. Stenson built a slight cushion while Bernhagen worked his way through the field from his 9th starting spot. Bernhagen was up to 5th by the 13th lap and continued to make his way to the front. Fourth became his on lap 18 as he closed on Mark Mackesy, Wausau, WI., who was in 3rd. Meanwhile, Borntreger was on the move rocketing into the top 5 by lap 12. He wasted no time in getting the next 4 spots as he motored by Stenson for the lead on lap 25. Bernhagen moved up to challenge, but Borntreger began to pull away. Unexpectedly, with a 6 car length lead, Borntreger spun, all by himself, relinquishing the lead to Bernhagen. That was all she wrote for the balance of the field, as Bernhagen extended his lead taking the checkered flag by a comfortable margin. The former CWRA Rookie of the Year Honoree, and main event winner, became the first such winner in 2020 in CWRA competition. Following Bernhagen at the stripe was Paul Paine, Mound, MN., in a sold run, Bentley Trucking Fast Qualifier, Mark Eswein, Wis., Rapids, WI., Stenson, Mackesy and Weinfurter your top 6. The 2nd 35 lap affair found Curt Tillman, Rockton, IL., on the pole. He grabbed the initial lead, but Harley Jankowski was right there, taking the top spot on the 3rd go round. Weinfurter was looking to win his first ever main event at the Dells track, moving from the 5th starting position into the lead on lap 9. A caution flag waved however, negating the lead change, and the Double file restart found he and Jankowski side by side at the drop of the green flag. Newcomer to the Tour, John Beale, Verona, WI., moved into 3rd position looking for an opening with Weinfurter and Jankowski continuing to race side by side. That battle continued for the next 20 laps with it appearing Weinfurter had the edge heading into the last two laps. A last lap burst of speed, however from Jankowski in the outside groove, propelled him into the lead by two feet at the checkered flag, in one of the closest, most exciting finishes fans on hand could remember. The win in the prestigious Nabbefeldt event got Jankowski off on the right foot for 2020 where the driver is hoping to follow up his 2019 Rookie of the Year honor with a season championship. Following Jankowski at the finish was Weinfurter, still looking for his first Feature win here, Beale, Bernhagen, Paine and Eswein the top six. A great crowd was on hand for the race, finally being able to get out after staying safer at home due to the Covid 19 virus. Next up for the CWRA Stars to Legends Tour, will be racing at State Park Speedway, Wausau, WI., Thursday night, June 4th. Another stout field of CWRA Cedar Creek Village, as presented by Bentley Trucking Super Late Models is expected to compete in the two Feature format show. SUMMARY 35 lap Feature one 1. Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan, WI.,, 2. Paul Paine, Mound, MN., 3. Mark Eswein, Wis. Rapids, WI., 4. Hunter Stenson, Wis. Dells, WI., 5. Mark Mackesy, Wausau, WI., 6. Jeff Weinfurter, Wis. Rapids, WI., 7. John Beale, Verona, WI., 8. Harley Jankowski, Sparta, WI., 9. Brett Breitenfeldt, Wausau, WI.,10. Curt Tillman, Rockton, IL., 11. Putch Bentley, Iron River, MI., 12. Dillon Mackesy, Athens, WI., 13. Corey Jankowski, Tomah, WI., 14. Allen Borntreger, Hillsboro, WI., 15. Monte Gress, Neillsville, WI., 16. Darek Gress, Neillsville, WI., 17. Dave Satorius, Appleton, WI., 18. Mike Sievers, Wis. Rapids, WI., 19. Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, WI., 20. Darren Jackson, Wis. Rapids, WI., DNS. 35 Lap Feature two 1. H. Jankowski, 2. Weinfurter, 3. Beale, 4. Bernhagen, 5. Paine, 6. Eswein, 7. Borntreger, 8. Stenson, 9.. M. Mackesy, 10. C. Jankowski, 11. Breitenfeldt, 12. Bentley, 13. Tillman, 14. M. Gress, 15. D Mackesy, DNS, 16. D. Gress, DNS, 17. Satorius, DNS, 18. Sievers, DNS, 19. Lichtfeld, DNS, 20. Jackson, DNS. Group Qualifying 1. Eswein AR Bodies 10% off Product certificate 5th place Feature one Mark Mackesy 5th place Feature two Paul Paine Bentley Trucking $100 cash Fast Qualifier Mark Eswein Coleman Racing Products $50 Product certificate "Brake of the Race" Feature one Allen Borntreger bad break $50 Product certificate "Brake of the Race" Feature two Monte Gress Diamond Racing Wheels $50 certificate 1st Feature Jesse Bernhagen $50 certificate 2nd Feature Harley Jankowski Don's Auto and Truck Checkers $25 cash Jesse Bernhagen or $25 cash Harley Jankowski Wreckers $50 cash Mike Sievers Howe Racing Ent. $50 Product certificate Hard Charger Feature one Mark Eswein, 12th-3rd. $50 Product certificate Hard Charger Feature two Jesse Bernhagen, 10th-4th. Tiry's Race Engines $100 off certificate Feature one Monte Gress, 16th $100 off certificate Feature two Mark Mackesy, 9th Wehrs Racing & Machine Feature one Brett Breitenfeldt, 9th Feature two Allen Borntreger, 7th CWRA Stars to Legends Tour point standings as of 5/30/20 1. #28 Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan, WI., 92 2. #27 Paul Paine, Mound, MN.,. 86 3. #8 Harley Jankowski, Sparta, WI. 84 4. #71 Mark Eswein, Wis. Rapids, WI., 82 5. #5 John Beale, Verona, WI., 80 6. #50 Hunter Stenson, Wis. Dells, WI., WI., 76 7. #3 Jeff Weinfurter, Wis. Rapids, WI., 74 8. #12 Mark Mackesy Wausau, WI., 72 9. #25 Allen Bontreger, Hillsboro, WI., 62 10. #14 Brett Breitenfeldt, Wausau, WI., 61 11. #31 Corey Jankowski, Tomah, WI., 57 12. #Putch Bentley, Iron River, MI., 57 13. #40 Curt Tillman, Rockton, WI., 57 14. #107.5M Monte Gress, Neillsville, WI., 51 15. #93 Dillon Mackesy, Athens, WI., 28 16 #107.5D Darek Gress, Neillsville, WI., 24 17.#93 Dave Satorius, Appleton, WI., 23 18. #6 Mike Sievers, Wis. Rapids, WI., 22 19. #32 Mike Lichtfeld, Portage, WI., 21 20. #2 Darren Jackson, Wis. Rapids, WI., 0

bottom of page