top of page

A Pair of Tour Champs including Most Recent Carter Classic Winner Enter July 11 Grundy Go

2018 ARCA Midwest Tour Champion Dalton Zehr and the 2011 Champ Andrew Morrissey are the first two Super Late Model drivers to file their entry for the upcoming 34th Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck and Equipment. The 100 lap contest which will pay $5,000 to the winner is slated to take place under the new LED lights at Grundy County Speedway on Saturday night July 11. Zehr topped a star studded field of touring ‘Stars and Cars’ and Chicagoland aces when the series last visited the one-third mile oval adding his name along the Midwest elite that have garnered victories in this event.

Joining the ARCA Midwest Tour will be the Midwest Dash Series and the Northern Outlaw Vintage Series. The Wayne Carter Classic began in 1975 when Tom Reffner defeated Bob Roper in what was the first ever ARTGO Racing event. Spectator Gates will open at 4:30pm, qualifying begins at 5pm with the First Race starting at 7pm.

Fans are encouraged to buy their tickets in advance as attendance limits will be in place at a to be determined percentage. Adult General Admission Tickets are $20, Seniors (62 and over) are $18, Students (ages 12-17) are $10 with kids ages 11 and under admitted Free. For additional information or to buy tickets for this event, please visit Friday night weekly racing action is set to begin at Grundy on June 26.

2020 Midwest Tour Schedule

Sat July 11 Grundy County Speedway Morris, IL Wayne Carter Classic 100

Sat July 25 State Park Speedway Wausau, WI Larry Detjens Memorial 125

Tue Aug 4 Wisconsin Int’l Raceway Kaukauna, WI Gandrud Auto Group 250

Aug 21/22/23 To Be Announced

August 28/29 To Be Announced

Sat Sept 5 Dells Raceway Park Wi Dells, WI Escape to Wisconsin 100

Oct 10/11 LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway West Salem, WI Oktoberfest Race Weekend

Nov 1 Nashville Fairgrounds Nashville, TN All-American Weekend (non-points)

Wayne Carter Classic Winners 1975 Tom Reffner 1976 Dave Watson 1977 Larry Phillips 1978 Mike Miller 1979 Mike Miller 1980 Mark Malcuit 1981 Larry Schuler 1982 Jim Sauter 1983 Tom Reffner 1984 Dick Trickle 1985 Butch Miller 1986 Joe Shear 1987 Dick Trickle 1988 Joe Shear 1989 Ted Musgrave 1990 Steve Carlson 1991 Kevin Cywinski 1992 Steve Holzhausen 1993 Joe Shear 1994 Joe Shear 1995 Joe Shear 1996 Dave Weltmeyer 1997 Joe Shear 1998 Eddie Hoffman 1999 Steve Carlson 2011 Ross Kenseth 2012 Eddie Hoffman 2013 Jonathan Eilen 2014 Chris Weinkauf 2015 Eddie Hoffman 2016 Ty Majeski 2017 Ricky Baker 2018 Dalton Zehr

bottom of page